OpenNebula 3 Cloud Computing by Giovanni Toraldo – A quick review

Open Nebula documentation is quite clear and is full of great examples so it’ll help you to install your cloud, but you may find useful this book published by Packt: OpenNebula 3 Cloud Computing by Giovanni Toraldo. I read it after installing my Open Nebula (I’m preparing my guide for CentOS and Open Nebula 3.8 ) and it helped me to understand better some Open Nebula concepts.

I read the first six chapters (in my Safari Books subscription) and in my opinion the writer provides a fine step-by-step guide to get your cloud infrastructure running with many different hypervisors and storage options. If you use the book to install Open Nebula and you’re an Ubuntu user you just can copy/paste the apt-get install commands, but don’t worry if you use any other GNU/Linux distributions you’ll only have to find the right packages for your favourite distribution.

As OpenNebula is evolving quickly you’ll find that some commands shown in the book  have different parameters (I think the author used the 3.4 version), but with little effort you will be able to follow the guide for the 3.6 version.

2 thoughts on “OpenNebula 3 Cloud Computing by Giovanni Toraldo – A quick review

  1. Giovanni Toraldo (@gionn) says:

    Yup, the book was based on OpenNebula 3.2 when it was published, so blind copy-and-paste could not work, especially when configuring hosts and datastore (which have been introduced later).

    Thanks for your article!

    Like

    • n40lab says:

      I’d like to thank you for reading and commenting my short review about your book. It has been great to receive a comment from the author!. Your book helped me to understand many OpenNebula concepts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

