OpenNebula : VNC Access

I will repeat it again, OpenNebula documentations is your friend. This is the documentation section which I’ve followed to enable VNC/Console for my VM:

http://opennebula.org/documentation:archives:rel3.0:sunstone

When creating the virtual machine template I’ve set the following values in the Add Graphics section:

  • Graphics Type: VNC
  • Listen IP: 0.0.0.0
  • Port:
  • Password:
  • Keymap:

If you want to open a vnc session in your virtual machine, you’ll need to install first noVNC using the install script available:

[root@haddock one]# cd /usr/share/one/
[root@haddock one]# ./install_novnc.sh
Downloading noVNC latest version...
######################################################################## 100,0%
Extracting files to temporary folder...
Installing Sunstone client libraries in /usr/lib/one/sunstone/public...
Installing SelfService client libraries in /usr/lib/one/ruby/cloud/occi/ui/public...
Downloading Websockify VNC proxy files
######################################################################## 100,0%
######################################################################## 100,0%
Backing up and updating /etc/one/sunstone-server.conf with new VNC proxy path...
Backing up and updating /etc/one/occi-server.conf with new VNC proxy path...
Installation successful

I’ve added a rule in my firewall so I can connect to the VNC port (29876 is the default, read the documentation section I’ve linked where an explanation is provided):

iptables -I INPUT -p tcp --dport 29876 -m state --state NEW,RELATED,ESTABLISHED -j ACCEPT

Maybe I can configure this rule somewhere in OpenNebula, I’ll investigate it.

And here is a screenshot of a vnc session!

VNC_connection

Leave a Reply

