Installing Openvswitch 1.10 on Debian Wheezy

Ok. Now that I’m using Debian again it’s time for Openvswitch. Building a .deb pack for openvswitch it’s very easy thanks to the readme files provided by Openvswitch and Nicira.

We’ll need a few packages first (thanks for the gdebi-core tip):

aptitude -y install gcc make automake autoconf debhelper libssl-dev pkg-config python-all python-qt4 python-zopeinterface python-twisted-conch gdebi-core

I’m building the package as a non root user. I’ll create a directory and download OVS 1.10 version. After that I’ll use dpkg-buildpackage to create the debian package.

mkdir openvswitch
cd openvswitch

wget http://openvswitch.org/releases/openvswitch-1.10.0.tar.gz

tar xvfz openvswitch-1.10.0.tar.gz

mv openvswitch-1.10.0.tar.gz openvswitch_1.10.0.orig.tar.gz

cd openvswitch-1.10.0
dpkg-buildpackage -us -uc
cd ..

Ok, now we’ll use our root account. Go to the directory where you’ve downloaded the openvswitch tar.gz file. We’ll install some debian packages and build the openvswitch kernel module. We’ll use gdebi to solve dependency problems when installing local deb files.

su
gdebi openvswitch-datapath-source_1.10.0-1_all.deb
module-assistant auto-install openvswitch-datapath // Wait a few minutes for compilation to finish
gdebi openvswitch-common_1.10.0-1_amd64.deb
gdebi openvswitch-switch_1.10.0-1_amd64.deb

Let’s try to run a few OVS commands:


# ovs-vsctl -V
ovs-vsctl (Open vSwitch) 1.10.0
Compiled Jun 15 2013 19:23:15

# ovs-vsctl show
b5e96ffe-9cba-426e-a7e8-9dc2abca15e7
 ovs_version: "1.10.0"

# ovs-vsctl add-br brtest0
# ovs-vsctl show
b5e96ffe-9cba-426e-a7e8-9dc2abca15e7
 Bridge "brtest0"
 Port "brtest0"
 Interface "brtest0"
 type: internal
 ovs_version: "1.10.0"

It looks good. This one was easy….

13 thoughts on “Installing Openvswitch 1.10 on Debian Wheezy

    • n40lab says:

      Hi Arthur.
      In the wheezy repository I only found 1.4.2 version so I built my own for latest stable 1.10, but if you know another repository or site where I can download or use it please post it here and I’ll update the article for those coming to this site,

      Thanks for the feedback!

      Cheers,
      Miguel

      Like

      • n40lab says:

        Hi Arthur!,
        I’m sorry I can’t tell what features are included in 1.10 version that are not supported by 1.4.2. I simply thought hey I’m bored! 😀 there’s the latest stable version why not compiling? maybe it offers more things but that’s just a guess

        Cheers!

        Like

  1. Anonymous says:

    If you install ‘gdebi-core’ instead of ‘gdebi’ you’ll save a whole lot of downloading / disk space 🙂

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Hi,
    good guide, all works fine.
    I have only a problem with the ovs-dpctl command.
    If i do ovs-dpctl dump-flows br-test, i have this output :
    ovs-dpctl: opening datapath (No such device)
    I already check the kernel module, and openvswitch module is load.
    Anybody can help me?

    Thanks

    Like

  3. DG says:

    Hi, great article thanks for the guidelines. Did you try the vxlan feature in 1.10.0? Please share how to enable that feature if you have tried it. Thanks in advance.

    Like

    • n40lab says:

      Hi,
      I’m sorry but I haven’t used the vxlan feature 😦 if I test it in the future I’ll let you know.

      Thanks for reading my blog.

      Like

  4. Wenly says:

    Hiii…
    I’am Wenly from Indonesia, I need your help to configure this issue

    I have a virtual machine that has two virtual NICs, I will create a virtual router with openvswitch as a bridge / switch, and I only use one physical NIC

    thank’s for you attention and I hope you replying

    Best
    Wenly

    Like

Leave a Reply

