CentOS 6.4 – Contextualization using OpenNebula’s init scripts

Hi,
today I’m offering you a simple contextualization example in OpenNebula using C12G Labs scripts. Contextualization is explained in the official documentation so please read it.

In my example I have installed a CentOS 6.4 virtual machine using a netinstall ISO image, then I’ve downloaded from the OpenNebula download page the current rpm files for OpenNebula. After uncompressing the tar.gz file I have installed the opennebula-context rpm package which provides the contextualization scripts.

tar xvfz CentOS-6.4-opennebula-4.0.0-1.tar.gz 
cd opennebula-4.0.0-1/context/
yum localinstall opennebula-context-4.0.0-1.x86_64.rpm

The rpm package will create:

  • An init.d script called vmcontext
  • A directory /etc/one-context.d which contains the scripts that will configure the network interfaces, the dns servers and the public ssh key.

OK. I’ve prepared a template with two network interfaces using Sunstone’s wizard. In the Context section I’ve checked the “Add SSH contextualization” and I’ve copied my public rsa key. This ssh contextualization will allow me to log in the new virtual machine as root with my ssh key.

The “Add Network contextualization” is also checked and it’ll create the network scripts for the NICs using the last four octets of the NIC’s MAC address to set a network address.

context_sshAnd now in the Custom variables section I’ve added two variables that I deliberately forgot to configure when defining my virtual networks, a variable to set a default gateway for one of the NICs and the DNS server for the virtual machine.

context_variables

Once I finish the template I instantiate it to start a new virtual machine. When the VM has booted I check the configuration for NICs, default gateway, dns and ssh and et voilà the contextualization scripts have already configured all automagically, how nice!

context_works

There are two 169.254.0.0 lines in the netstat -rn, probably because of the default dhcp configuration for NICs, nothing related with the contextualization scripts.

I hope this helps you to understand why contextualization is a nice feature. Enjoy!

One thought on “CentOS 6.4 – Contextualization using OpenNebula’s init scripts

  1. jaekeun says:

    I saw /etc/one-context.d/02-ssh_public_key script files.
    it make authorised_keys which contains my rsa_key.
    but in my case, It failed.
    I wonder where is the log file recording 02-ssh_public_key file.

    thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

