Quick and easy: Installing Open Nebula 3.8 in CentOS 6.3

Hi again!
In September I tried to install OpenNebula 3.6 using source files as I couldn’t find rpm packages for CentOS but maybe I wasn’t clever enough because according to OpenNebula web page you can download packages for the latest release. Installing from source was easy (let me know if you want me to write a post about the steps I followed) but if you have rpm packages you can have OpenNebula running in five minutes. Enough chat, back to work!

  1. You’ll have to download OpenNebula rpm packages. Go to http://downloads.opennebula.org/ fill the form and don’t forget to select OpenNebula 3.8.X Centos 6.3 tarball under Software Component.
  2. You’ll need to enable EPEL repository on your system. If you don’t know how to do that, download the following rpm and install it:
    wget http://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/epel/6/x86_64/epel-release-6-8.noarch.rpm
    rpm -Uvh epel-release-6-8.noarch.rpm
    
  3. Updated 29/12/2012. You can skip steps 4 and 5 (I keep them only for reference). As Kolmis suggests, it’s better to use yum localinstall to install OpenNebula rpm packages so dependencies are solved:
    tar xvfz CentOS-6.3-opennebula-3.8.1.tar.gz
    cd opennebula-3.8.1
    yum --nogpgcheck localinstall opennebula-3.8.1-1.x86_64.rpm
    yum --nogpgcheck localinstall opennebula-sunstone-3.8.1-1.x86_64.rpm
    
  4. With root privileges download the following packages required by OpenNebula (remember, you need EPEL repository!). Note: As I installed OpenNebula 3.6 previously in my system it’s possible that I downloaded some required packages that are not listed in the following yum command, please let me know if you have any problem so I can update this post with your help.
    yum install ruby rubygems rubygem-nokogiri rubygem-json rubygem-rack rubygem-sequel rubygem-sinatra rubygem-sqlite3-ruby rubygem-thin rubygem-uuidtools xmlrpc-c-c++ xmlrpc-c-client++
    
  5. Untar the OpenNebula file and install the packages (I’ve only installed openebula and opennebula-sunstone packages).
    tar xvfz CentOS-6.3-opennebula-3.8.1.tar.gz
    cd opennebula-3.8.1
    rpm -Uvh opennebula-3.8.1-1.x86_64.rpm
    rpm -Uvh opennebula-sunstone-3.8.1-1.x86_64.rpm
    
  6. Ok. Everything is ready. OpenNebula created the oneadmin user (home directory: /var/lib/one) and installed /etc/init.d scripts (thanks OpenNebula guys!) so it’s easy to start and stop the daemons. Let’s start the OpenNebula service as root
    # service opennebula start
    Starting OpenNebula daemon: [ OK ]
    

    And now let’s check if opennebula is ready to have fun. Warning: If you run the following command as root, the following message will be shown “ONE_AUTH file not present” (there’s no authentication file with OpenNebula credentiales in your home directory), so please use your new oneadmin account to manage OpenNebula.

    # su oneadmin
    [oneadmin@server ~]$ onevm list
    ID USER GROUP NAME STAT UCPU UMEM HOST TIME
    

    If you see ID, USER, GROUP… after running the onevm list command, everything looks fine. In a few days I’ll post about OpenNebula configuration and some interesting commands. Enjoy!

14 thoughts on “Quick and easy: Installing Open Nebula 3.8 in CentOS 6.3

  1. Kolmis says:

    On fresh install it gave me this:

    rpm -Uvh opennebula-3.8.1-1.x86_64.rpm
    error: Failed dependencies:
    libxmlrpc++.so.4()(64bit) is needed by opennebula-3.8.1-1.x86_64
    libxmlrpc_client++.so.4()(64bit) is needed by opennebula-3.8.1-1.x86_64
    libxmlrpc_server++.so.4()(64bit) is needed by opennebula-3.8.1-1.x86_64
    libxmlrpc_server_abyss++.so.4()(64bit) is needed by opennebula-3.8.1-1.x86_64

    Like

  2. Kolmis says:

    BTW. Why do you install those rpm-packages with “rpm” instead of using “yum localinstall” when that resolves those dependencies automatically?

    Like

    • n40lab says:

      Hi Kolmis, thank you for pointing that out. Sometimes I forget to use yum for rpm packages and still use the rpm command (old bad habits…). I’m going to update the post. Once again thank you for your comments they are very helpful!

      Like

    • kolmis says:

      I think there is no password for oneadmin as default, you can login using command su oneadmin on the root account. Also you can set password for oneadmin as root if needed.

      Like

  3. smathur0114 says:

    i have successfully gone till step 5 but am not able to start opennebula service..even oneadmin has also been created but am nothing is coming out when i write # service opennebula start..and am doing all these steps in a single system.Do I need one more system also for any further installation or steps?And do I need to install ESXi hypervisor on another system?? pls reply..

    Like

    • n40lab says:

      I’ve sent you an email with instructions, let me know if it helped you to solve your problem so I can update the post with your solution. Bye!

      Like

  4. Alessandra says:

    hello, I’m installing OpenNebula 3.8.3 on scientificlinux 6.3 frontend and I have a problem. The directory structure used by OpenNebula is not complete, because according to all your guide everything seems to go well, but I realized that lacks the directory tm_commands and also scripts TM. how can I fix? thank u!

    Like

    • n40lab says:

      Hi Alessandra,
      In my installation the tm_commands and scripts are found under /var/lib/one/remotes/tm which should be automatically created by the rpm packages, do you have that directory. Did you create a host after installing OpenNebula? I’ll try to do my best to help you.

      Regards,

      Miguel

      Like

  5. Alessandra says:

    not yet. Only front-end. I haven’t the directory tm_commands as indicated on the OpenNebula’s site. But I have the directory that you have shown me. is it the same? I’ll let you know the developments. Alessandra! 😀

    Like

    • n40lab says:

      Hi Alessandra,
      I guess it’s the same directory. Try to create a host in OpenNebula and deploy a VM in that host. I’m currently running OpenNebula 4 beta but I’ll try to help you if you find erros. If you prefer try to send me an email (view my Full Profile to get my email and Google Talk contact).

      Like

Leave a Reply

